Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Seminar on 25 January. The AWC: Student Performance, Retention, and Employability

The AWC:  Student Performance, Retention, and Employability

You are cordially invited to attend a seminar on the subject of the Academic Writing Centre and raising the standards of student writing at NUIGThe seminar will address the connection between academic writing and student performance, their ability to complete their chosen course of study, and their future career paths.

The Registrar, Prof. Pól Ó Dochartaigh, will open the seminar which will feature speakers from diverse disciplines, including Science, Law, and Marketing and will also include an open forum.

The seminar is an opportunity to cast a closer look at the work of the AWC, a unit which has played a supportive role for thousands of students since its establishment, in 2009. It is also an opportunity to begin a conversation about such issues as plagiarism, originality, and the role of writing in shaping graduate attributes 


Or RSVP by email: irina.ruppo@nuigalway.ie

The AWC: Student Performance, Retention, and Employability
James Hardiman Library, NUI Galway 25 January 2018
Provisional Programme

14.00               Prof. Pól Ó Dochartaigh (Registrar and Deputy President, NUIG): Official Opening of the Seminar

14:10               John Cox (University Librarian): The AWC and James Hardiman Library,

14.15   Panel 1: The AWC and Student Performance

Chair: Niall McSweeney (Head of Research and Learning, James Hardiman Library)

Dr Rachel Cave (Earth and Ocean Sciences)

Dr Pat Morgan (Vice President for Student Experience)

Dr Dorothy Ní Uigín (Acadamh na hOllscolaíochta Gaeilge)

Dr Michael Carty (Biochemistry)

15:00   Coffee

15:05   Panel 2: The AWC and Student Retention

Chair: Michelle Palmer (AWC)

Dr Kimberly LoPrete (History )

Andrew Forde (Student Union Vice President/ Education Officer)

Dr Muireann O’Cinneide (English)

15: 25  Panel 3: The AWC and Student Employablity

Chair: Grace Mannion (Employability Project Officer, Careers Office)

Dr Ann Torres (Marketing)

Dr Nathan Quinlan (Engineering)

Dr Deirdre McHugh (CELT)

15: 55 – Concluding remarks. 

No comments: